top of page

Blog Post 3

After reading the chapter, I realized there are so many different ways to plan and fully brainstorm a piece of writing. One technique I found interesting was freewriting. Usually when planning to write something, I use very vague ideas and start to list things, sort of in a formal outline. Today in class was the first time I ever tried freewriting, and I honestly enjoyed it quite a bit. It may have been because of the topic at hand, but it seemed easier to get ideas flowing and get the ball rolling for a potential paper. Free writing encourages word vomit, but in a good way. Every idea that came into my head was immediately typed up. Whether it was useful or not, every idea would be remembered for future use in my first project, which is extremely beneficial. I now feel more confident in what topic I want to use for project 1, as well as how I am going to organize my writing and what details I want to use. The chapter also gave several other different techniques I can use in the future, as opposed to my usual plan of a dumbed-down formal outline. My usual planning method does work, but it is always a good idea to try a new option every now and then.


POPULAR TAGS

No tags yet.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page